Orheiul Vechi is an historical and archaeological complex from the Republic of Moldova located in Orhei District in the village of Tribujeni on the Răut river, about 60 km from Chisinau.
It is a historical place with a natural beauty, a distant and rocky ridge over the Răut river, it is known for the Cave Monastery and the ruins that stretch from the first days of the Dacian tribes more than 2000 years ago from the Middle Ages through the Mongol and Tatar invasions. , in the time of Stephen the Great.
Orheiul Vechi is a natural and historical complex, where the natural landscape of limestone rock, eroded by river water, predominates.
Archaeologists have discovered cultural layers from different eras, such as the Paleolithic, the Eneolithic and the Iron Age.
Orheiul Vechi contains traces of different civilizations, including remains of earthen fortresses and wooden fortresses of the 6th century Getodace fortress before Christ.
Orheiul Vechi is famous for its monasteries, it is possible that the caves were already in the rocks, carved by tribes who lived in the area.
The Orthodox monastery is still inhabited by a handful of orthodox monks, who maintain the church at the top of the hill.
In the Middle Ages the spread of the Orthodox monastic life and frequent raids of the Tartars forced the monks to go deep into the inaccessible rocks to hide.
The caves are still functional, the monks have expanded the existing ones and formed new ones.
There are six tourist objects: the Gothic fortress, the medieval fortress, the ferry, the inn and the Cave cave, the church.
In the banks of the Răut or small caves, the Cave Monastery is at a height of 60 meters above the river.
The monastery is made up of a church, a corridor with stairs for access to Răut and a tunnel dug in 1821 with a bell tower from 1890, also a massive stone cross, dating from the 18th century, is installed.
A small bridge over the Răut River takes you for a 10-minute hike to the Cave Monastery along the ridge. You can see the Orthodox Church dedicated to the Ascension of St. Mary, built in 1905 and recently restored.